Organisational Chart



Social Welfare Department has been constituted as an independent department under govt. order no. 602 dated 20-03-2007. After its reorganization, three separate directorates came to exist under it. These are - (a) Social Welfare Directorate (b) Integrated Child Development Service Directorate and (c) Social Security & Disability Directorate. In addition to that, Women Development Corporation has also been functioning as an autonomous institution under this department itself.


To protect the well-being of the disabled under the Disability Act, 1995 the office of State Disability Commissioner has also been put under the umbrella of Social Welfare Department itself.


Various plans, programmes/projects have been launched for promoting the interest of women, children, helpless, older person and other deprived sections of society by Social Welfare Department.


Projects running currently through Social Welfare Dept. include:

  1. Mukhyamantri Kanya Suraksha Yojna
  2. Mukhyamantri Kanya Vivah Yojna
  3. Mukhyamantri Nari Shakti Yojna
  4. Lakshmi Bai Social Security Pension Scheme
  5. Integrated Child Development Project
  6. Child Protection Unit under Youth Justice section
  7. Construction of Child/Observation Home
  8. Scholarship scheme in the Disability sections
  9. Mukhyamantri Samarthya Yojana for supply of special appliances to the Disabled Person
  10. Mukhyamantri Loan Scheme for Educational Development and Employment under Social Security areas
  11. Indira Gandhi National Old Age Pension
  12. Indira Gandhi National Disability Pension
  13. Bihar Social Security Pension
  14. Bihar Disability Pension
  15. Kabir Anthyesthi Yojna

Organisational Setup


1. Head quarter level
(a) Welfare Department is headed by the Principal Secretary, Social Welfare. At the headquarter level, Principal Secretary is assisted by Joint Secretary and Deputy Secretaries.
(b) There are three Directorates and a Corporation of Social Welfare. Each one is headed by a Director/Managing Director who is responsible for the implementation of the schemes for Women, Children, Disabled and Pensioners. He/She is assisted by Joint Director/Dy. Director (H.Q.) and a no. of Assistant Directors.
2. District Level
  At the district level, the office of the District Program Officer is functioning. The office is located in the Collectorate building of the District.
3. Block Level
  At the block level, Child Development Program Officer (CDPO) is posted to carry out the works of Social Welfare Department.


Different organisations under Social Welfare Dept. are as follows:

  1. Corporation
  2. Directorates
  3. Bihar State Social Welfare Board

You can find out more about these organisations by clicking on the above links.